top of page
  • Writer's pictureGabby

My Lockdown Staples!


I wanted to share a few things I've made sure I have stocked while we're staying home through this recent corona virus craziness. Sticking to pantry items and frozen veggies (which can have the same if not more nutrients than fresh produce due to quick freezing and no transport time!) allows you to stock up on these and reduce grocery store trips. I'll list my favorite products and some ideas of what to do with them! More recipes are definitely on the way too!


Frozen veggies:

Hard to find these days since stores have been bought out, but these are versatile and great to keep handy if you can get your hands on them.

My top 3:

Organic frozen kale, spinach and cauliflower rice.

The easiest way to get these veggies into your diet is through smoothies- even the cauliflower. I’ll be honest, I was nervous about adding cauliflower to my smoothies (and ruining it) and didn’t try it until this week because my greens were running low. I couldn’t even taste it in there with everything else and the texture was awesome!

Other ideas:

  • Throw a handful of greens into soups, stews, tomato sauces, pasta dishes- I do this with almost every meal I prepare. You get the nutrients from that serving of veggies and it also helps fill you up- the greens take up space and are full of fiber.

  • Cauliflower rice makes great low carb fried rice (will post a recipe for this soon!) which is an easy one skillet meal. Or cook with some broth, add butter and blend into a puree to serve along with so many different dishes for a lower carb/ lighter potato alternative.

Pantry:

  • Ancient Nutrition Vanilla Multi Collagen- this has become my favorite vanilla protein. It contains various types of collagen and I love the taste. I have an easy recipe for peanut butter protein cookies made with this product and just a few other ingredients. It’s also great to use as creamer in your coffee or in smoothies.

  • Nut butters- I think I have 1 of each type of nut. I eat it by the spoonful, in smoothies, or in one of my favorite snacks- nut butter on celery. Something about the fiber, saltiness and crunch of celery plus the fattiness of a nut butter crushes any snacky cravings I might be having. Important note: make sure you check your ingredients here. Creamy and smooth can mean oils have been added, usually ones that are not healthy and high in inflammatory omega 6’s. Sugar is often added as well. If you’re buying nut butter the ingredient should be 1 thing- nuts.

  • Sustainable, wild caught canned salmon (or tuna)- Since we aren’t making regular grocery store runs, getting fresh seafood is probably off the table unless you have some frozen. Canned is a convenient option to get those servings of seafood in easily. Try to get sustainably wild caught- farmed fish are crowded and living in less than ideal conditions, which can result in higher risk of diseases and parasites. I love making a salmon salad with avocado oil mayo, chopped red onion, and fresh or dried dill. Serve it over a salad or make a wrap with lettuce or try Julian Bakery Organic Paleo Wraps (I stocked up on these too- froze a pack and have one handy for easy, healthy wraps!)


  • Healthy Mayo- Avocado oil is my go to, but I also like coconut oil mayo. Most mayo is made with canola, vegetable or seed oils which are high in omega 6’s. You can read more about this in my post Fast Fat Facts. I use this in salmon or egg salad, or to toss cauliflower for better browning when I roast it (fat + egg gives it a nice color, sprinkle some salt & parmesan on it for a nice side dish!)

  • Healthy Oils- Avocado and coconut oil for cooking (high smoke point), olive oil for salad dressings, MCT oil for salad dressings and bulletproof coffee. Again, see Fast Fat Facts for more info 

Refrigerated:

  • EGGS! A complete protein containing all 9 essential amino acids (the ones our bodies do not produce). I bought 2 dozen, hard boiled one dozen (they stay good in the fridge unpeeled for about 5 days) to use for deviled eggs, egg salad, and to add to salads for protein. The second dozen can be used to fry, scramble, make an omelet or frittata with any veggies you need to use up.

**Very important side note: Whether its eggs or chicken meat you’re buying… pasture raised means the chickens can roam outside in their natural environment. Free range might sound good, but legally means “access outside”… outdoor access the chickens are getting doesn’t mean it’s their natural pasture environment, it could just be a paved patch of ground :( . Cage free doesn’t guarantee the chickens even made it outdoors, they are just not confined to cages. I could, and probably will, write a whole post about this, but it’s important to keep in mind not just morally for the wellbeing of the chickens, or out of concern for the sustainability of the farming practice, also for your nutrition. Pasture raised chickens and chicken eggs have a better nutritional profile, and are better for you (and the chickens)!



That's my 2 cents, hopefully this is helpful in some way and provides you with some ideas of what to keep handy as we spend more time cooking at home these day! Please leave any comments or questions below, feel free to reach out via email gab@kitchenrx.online, or check out what I'm up to on Instagram @gab.ponce!

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page